ALVIN S. SIMPLETON GIVING UP ON CHRISTMAS

I tell yo’all Christmas is nerve racking. Course yo’all know that already. I can’t take the roller coaster of Christmas no more, no siree, I just can’t do it.

Look here, I do my Christmas shopping in November before Thanksgiving. Man, I don’t do no shopping on the day after Thanksgiving. I knew one day somebody was gonna get hurt real serious in one of them stores that open ‘fore daybreak in the morning. Sure nough, that fellow in, New York was it, opened the doors and got himself trampled to death.

Anyway, back to why I’m giving up Christmas. When I’m shopping, I get depressed cause of the money I know I’m gon owe after Christmas. That is why I wish credit cards had never been invented, cause I use them like they real money. Hell no, they ain’t real money, but they ain’t play money neither.

When I start buying presents for my three grandsons, I feel good thinking bout the smiles on their faces on Christmas day. Now that eases the pain a little bit, it don’t make them Christmas blues go away but it do easy the pain.

Christmas day is all fun and smiles with nary a care in the world. It’s the day after that brings on the pain again. The “I got to pay for all that stuff” blues comes down. January ain’t never been a good month for me since I had kids, cause the bills come due and I have to pay the piper.

They say the economy in bad shape. Well, you can’t tell by what I spent this year. I know I contributed to the economy even if I do have to give them storekeepers real money in January.

Comments Off on ALVIN S. SIMPLETON GIVING UP ON CHRISTMAS

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.