ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS 2009 AIN’T BRINGING HIM NOTHING

Everybody is writing bout what 2009 will bring them and about New Year resolutions. Well, I figure 2009 ain’t gonna bring me nothing new and I sure in hell don’t make no New Year resolution that I won’t keep anyway.

The way I figure it, with times being as bad as they are, I’ll be doing all I can to keep my head above water. Look at what’s happenin to the Black middle class folks. They why I’m all for the bailout for the carmakers. Those folks gon or already done lost their jobs cause the carmakers almost broke. Them high wages they made, well, they probably ain’t make them no more, so sir. Now don’t get me wrong, some White middle class folks is suffering too. Suffering don’t know no race, color, or religion.

Now I likes Obama, the president elected, but man, I’m facing one fact: he gon have a hard time correcting the financial mess we in, and I ain’t holdin my breath til he do. I just hope they don’t reduce my pension, cause if they do, I’ll have to look for a job, and I ain’t sure I can handle an eight hour shift no more, what with my old man illnesses. And I ain’t sayin what they are.

And I ain’t lookin back at 2008 like all the newspapers and TV are doin. I’m with Satchel Paige who said something to the effect “don’t look back because something may be following you.”

Comments Off on ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS 2009 AIN’T BRINGING HIM NOTHING

Filed under American Politics, politics, race

Comments are closed.