ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS TIMES THEY ARE GETTIN BETTER

Lord, it is a great day in Mississippi. I mean who’d ever thought it, a Black man becoming mayor of a town where the White folks are 56% of the population?

Yes sir, it done happened in Philadelphia, Mississippi, the town where the Klan murdered three young mens, one black and two white, in 1964. I read bout in the New York Times on Friday the 22.

Yes, the philosopher of common sense reads the New York Times. I aint no fool.

The philosopher of common sense think he sees progress in them race relations between Blacks and Whites in these United States. I don’t know if race done disappear or if it will ever disappear from our nation but I do know progress done been made.

What progress, Common Sense Philosopher, you ask?

Well, now a Black is President of these United States, somethin I would’ve dreamed of when I was growing up.

And a Black man is the mayor of a town in Mississippi where the majority is White. That means some White folks voted for him, don’t it?

Yes sir, the philosopher feels good bout these United States.

1 Comment

Filed under American Politics, politics, race, state politics

One response to “ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS TIMES THEY ARE GETTIN BETTER

  1. With there being a black President in office, you would think some people would start being proud to be black. Instead, you have some who try very hard to disassociate themselves with their own race. I find that very confusing. I believe everyone should embrace their heritage and hold their heads high!