ALVIN S. SIMPLETON ASKS IS IT POSSIBLE

This morning I read an Associate Press story that made ask myself how can a person racist activities not make a person a racist? And I still don’t see how it is possible.

A White justice of the peace in a small town in Louisiana refused to marry an interracial couple (a Black man and White woman) because his experience showed such marriages don’t work.

The justice said he “is not racist. I just don’t believe in mixing the races that way.”

One of his reasons is the children of such marriages suffer. Mind you, now, he has “piles and piles of black friends. They come to my home, I marry them, they use my bathroom. I treat them just like everyone else.” He, of course, researched the problem: he discussed it with Blacks and Whites and witness some interracial marriages and concluded that neither Black nor White society accepts the children of such marriages.

I don’t think it would do any good to tell him that I also have seen interracial marriages and the children were accepted by both Blacks and Whites. Or that Tiger Woods and his wife don’t seem to have a problem because he’s part Black and she is White.

How long oh Lord, how long will it be before we conquer that old devil racism?

Comments Off on ALVIN S. SIMPLETON ASKS IS IT POSSIBLE

Filed under children, race, Racism, society

Comments are closed.