ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS HE DON’T DO RESOLUTIONS

At one time in my misguided youth I made New Year’s resolutions that I never kept. This made me wonder when I reached middle age, which was around 50, why was I wasting my time planning to do things I knew I would never do. So, I don’t do New Year’s resolutions.

But, I do try to start off the new year with a clean slate. Therefore, I discarded all my notes on subjects for this blog so I can begin accumulating new notes for 2010.

I’m an optimist. I believe this year will be better than the next. I believe this despite the fact that the year for me start off on a negative note: I didn’t get a raise in my pension. But, I’m still healthy and able to pay what few debts I have.

This year I believe the economy will get better, maybe not a full recovery, but better than last year.

Bankers, as they are already doing, will try to figure even more ways to get around the new credit card regulations. I know most of us can’t go without them credit cards but I sho wish we could, then we could tell them bankers to shove it where the sun don’t shine.

The Iraqis will go on killing each other trying to gain a political advantage.

In Afghanistan, the Taliban will be heard but rarely seen, and the government will be as corrupt as it was before the recent bad elections chose the same man as president.

North Korea will continue its dance in trying to get the US to sign a nonaggression treaty.

The government of Iran will continue to blame the US and Europe for troubles of its own making.

Lastly, conservatives will go even more negative on President Obama. Nothing he does will be right.

Well, there you have my predictions for 2010. And no I don’t plan to look back when 2011 rolls in to see if they are correct.

Comments Off on ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS HE DON’T DO RESOLUTIONS

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.