ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS SNOW STORM STOPS EVERYTHING

When I was growing up in Knoxville, Tennessee, the school never closed because of snow. Man, many of us had to walk to school in sometimes 6 inches of snow. Okay, I know that aint much for folks living the Midwest and northeast, but to us it was a whole lotta white stuff. I didnt know could stop traffic until I moved to Chicago. In Knoxville, I sometimes helped my uncle pull cars out of ditches, but that was bout the extent of any inconveniences because of snow.

Well, here I am back in Knoxville, and on Thursday a snow storm hit East Tennessee. It wasn’t as bad as the ones that hit the Midwest, but for us, it messed up commuters trying to get home, and closed the schools in every county in East Tennessee and some in Southern Kentucky. Schools closed today also, Friday.

Man, I cannot get used to the idea that a little snow can stop everything, traffic, school, folks gettin to work. Here in the city, only bout an inch fell.

When I was growing up, I liked the snow until I learned to drive. Once I leaned to drive, I drove the jeep my uncle and I used to pull cars out of ditches, which meant I stayed out in the snow a lot longer and got a lot colder. That was when I started to hate that white stuff. Now it keeps me inside the house sometimes until the sun comes out and melts it.

If it never snowed again, I wouldn’t miss it one bit. Snow is dangerous.

Comments Off on ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS SNOW STORM STOPS EVERYTHING

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.