ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS EARTHQUAKE AND FIRED FOOTBALL COACH ARE NOT EQUAL

I was going to discuss the two messes bout race. You done read bout them. Senator Reid made what some call a racist remark bout Obama during the campaign and some folks is upset bout it. Some folks also upset bout the census including the word “Negro” as a choice for us Black folks. These two is minor problems compared to what is happening in Haiti and here in my hometown of Knoxville, Tennessee.

A devastating earthquake hit Haiti. The University of Tennessee football coach Lane Kiffin resigned after just one season to take the head coaching job at the University of Southern California.

Now, I’m a loyal fan of the Vols football team and have been since I was a teenager, even though in those days, the Vols had no Black players, and a section of the stadium was set aside for us “colored.”

But I worry bout my fellow citizens in Knoxville when the news bout the coach shares equal space on the front page of the Knoxville News Sentinel with the news about the earthquake. They also share about the same amount of space in the pages of the paper.

It seems to me that we here in Knoxville have our priorities screwed up. But then I think bout how the Vols bring in money every Saturday they play.

Them earthquake victims dont bring in nothing. They need money, medicine, food, and God knows what else.

So, ifn you’re reading this blog, find a way to help.

Comments Off on ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS EARTHQUAKE AND FIRED FOOTBALL COACH ARE NOT EQUAL

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.