ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS I CRY FOR HAITI

I tried to avoid writing about Haiti because looking at the images on TV and in news magazines was too heart rending for me. And I hate to see a grown man cry, especially me. But when I read an article in the  New York Times, published January 22, 2010 by Mark Danner about the history of Haiti, I had to say my piece. He calls Haiti “everybody’s cherished tragedy.” He argues that Haiti’s problems “have been caused by men, not demons.”

This prompted me to ask, as many pundits on TV and in the news magazines and newspapers have, will we, that is, America really help Haiti this time?

A more important question is in view of Haiti’s history of corruption by all of the men who have ruled the island nation, can Haiti be helped?

After order is restored and things are back to normal, well as normal as they can be in Haiti, will the elites who govern the nation put the money many nations will donate to help rebuild in their pockets or use it to help the people, who are mostly poor?

I predict that the US and other nations, after a while, will leave and the corruption will begin.

I cry for Haiti, a country rich in history, some of it good, most of it terrible for the poor citizens.

I cry for Haiti whose people have endured and will do so again.

I cry for Haiti in the hope that the earthquake will bring its rulers to their senses.

Comments Off on ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS I CRY FOR HAITI

Filed under Foreign Affairs, History

Comments are closed.