ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS SOCIAL NETWORKING IS SO 21ST CENTURY

“Social Networking – It’s the way the 21st century communicates now” (http://www.whatissocialnetworking.com/)

Until a few months ago, I wasn’t interested in any of the “social networking sites” on the Internet. I thought such websites were for young people, especially those growing up in this the 21st century.

In my youth, social networking (a term I only recently learned though it was coined in 1950 by professor named J. A. Barnes) was hanging out in front of the grocery store or in the poolroom swapping lies. No women were permitted. I’m sure women in the beauty parlors and other places social networked, and yes swapped lies about us men, only they called it gossiping.

I became interested in social networking when relatives and friends of mine invited me to join Facebook. I’m having fun but I’m also frustrated because I have to spend an hour or more figuring out how to play a game on Facebook or upload a picture or do some of the many other things I’m suppose to be able to do.

I’ve already experienced the dreaded “forgot my password.” On other sites, if you forget your password, you can request it be emailed to you. On Facebook, there is or was no way to get the old password, and to change your password you must know the old password.

The philosopher of common sense advises Facebook to fix it.

Fear: with the million of Facebook users, my greatest fear is I’ll have so many friends that I’ll become paralyzed trying to decide who to contact.

As much as I enjoy Facebook, I think we may have lost something in the disappearance of face to face social networking.

Comments Off on ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS SOCIAL NETWORKING IS SO 21ST CENTURY

Filed under Facebook, Social Networking, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.