ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS HE DON’T WANT TO LIVE TO BE 100

A news story about longevity begins with the question, and I paraphrase here, would you want to know if you were gonna live to be 100?

These here scientist folks in New England what are studying something called “genomes” of folks who done lived to be 100 done found some genes what can predict how long you gon live at 77 percent accuracy. One of them expert types at another place think identifying the genes will help protect us against old age diseases cause it’ll be better than attacking them diseases one by one.

Well, now, I’m happy for them scientist cause they got something to keep them busy for years. But I wonder what would happen if a whole lotta us were to live to be 100? I mean the world already crowded, and young folks these days don’t always want to be bother with old folks, not even they parents.

Me, I don’t want to live to be 100 even ifn I’m physically healthy and mentally alert, and I don’t want no test predicting ifn I could live so long cause it’ll mean telling me the date I just might keel over and die. Like I said, the earth gettin crowded and young folks gon start pushing us old folks off the planet.

No, I aint thinkin bout killin myself. I love life and aint gon cry when nature tells me it time to leave life behind and return to the dust. The only fear I have is I might miss something important on this old earth.

Comments Off on ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS HE DON’T WANT TO LIVE TO BE 100

Filed under LIFE, senior citizens, society

Comments are closed.