ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS ANOTHER WAR WE LOSING

For 40 years or so, the US has been fighting a losing war against drugs, and it is another war no one wishes to admit is being lost. I read in my hometown newspaper the Knoxville News Sentinel recently that over the 40 years, the drug war has cost 1 trillion dollars. Man, that is a one with a lotta zeros behind it.

According to the story in the newspaper, “Records indicate marijuana and prescription drug abuse are climbing, while cocaine use is way down.” Man, the Feds are grabbing more drugs than ever, yet they aint cut down on use. Demand and supply, baby, that’s what is workin in the drug trade.

Every time I read bout the police seizing so many pounds of weed, I just wait, and sure enough, in a few weeks out comes a report showing drugs still traveling north from down in Texas or somewhere.

But help may be on the way, for you see, the DEA is looking for folks who can interpret ebonics. What is ebonics, you may ask? Well, some say it is Black English and is a separate language. I be Black and I aint never heard no ebonics. Anyway, the DEA feels it needs interpreters to translate conversations heard on wiretaps. The speakers, apparently, are speaking ebonics.

Me, I think them drug dealers are just speaking in code cause they know The Man is listening.

I aint no expert, but it do seem to me that to win this here war on drugs, you got to stop demand.

But ifn you want a job and can speak ebonics, by all means apply to the DEA. Hey, maybe you’ll help make a dent in the drug war.

Comments Off on ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS ANOTHER WAR WE LOSING

Filed under American Government, American Politics, Government, LIFE, Medical, race, Racism, society

Comments are closed.