ALVIN S. SIMPLETON MUST ADJUST TO THE INFORMATION AGE

During the years I crowded into a bus along with the rest of the worker drones and got off and entered a high rise building in San Francisco, I was too tired when I got home in the evening to read the newspapers, so, I got my news from television.

Upon retirement, I turned off the television news and joined those reader drones who believed that it wasn’t news if it wasn’t in a newspaper or news magazine. I spent my mornings reading the newspapers and my afternoons reading such news magazines as U. S. News and World Report.

I resisted as long as I could going online and reading the online newspapers. However, once I could no longer afford mail delivery of the New York Times, I turned to reading it free online and discovered I could read the Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and many other newspapers for free (hey, we all like free stuff, right).

Still, I resisted reading online magazines until U. S. News and World Report stopped sending me the print edition, forcing me to download the online issue and read it on my computer monitor, which I had. However, I still received the print edition containing advice on various subjects, that is, until this month.

This month, on the cover is the report that no longer will the print and digital issues of the U. S. News and World Report be published. The company will, however, continue to publish the usnews.com website. I still receive the print edition of The New Republic, but I suspect the online-magazine avalanche will soon overtake it too.

 

I must adjust to reading newspaper and magazine stories on my computer monitor if I am to survive in the Information Age. I don’t think I help the environment any when I download stories and print them because the computer monster is hard on an old man’s eyes.

But I’ve been told learning new skills may help me live longer because it keeps the brain active.

 

Comments Off on ALVIN S. SIMPLETON MUST ADJUST TO THE INFORMATION AGE

Filed under Education, Information Age, News, senior citizens, society

Comments are closed.