ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS MERRY CHRISTMAS

I’m not a religious person. In fact, I’m an agnostic and a secularist. I don’t believe Jesus Christ was born on December 25. But I deeply enjoy Christmas. What I enjoy most is giving presents, especially to my grandkids, and the joy on the children’s faces. Children appreciate presents more than adults, even when it is not what they expected. If they don’t like a present, they will not hesitate to tell you so, and hearing the truth from them is enjoyable.

I enjoy seeing the smile on people’s faces during Christmas, which is an indication that they, too, are enjoying the festivities.

And I will not say “Happy Holidays,” when I mean Merry Christmas.

Of course, my enjoyment is somewhat dampened by the commercialization and the argument over whether to use the term “Happy Holidays” or “Merry Christmas.” Hey, I accept this small flaw in the idea of Christmas. To do otherwise would be to be a Scrooge.

So, MERRY CHRISTMAS.

Comments Off on ALVIN S. SIMPLETON SAYS MERRY CHRISTMAS

Filed under children, CHRISTMAS, church, Religion, society

Comments are closed.